Healthy Kid-Friendly Breakfast On the Go: Banana Oatmeal Muffins

Have you ever found a recipe that you really wanted to try, but it required you to go on a wild goose chase to track down all the unique ingredients? Every once in awhile, that scenario can make for a fun little food adventure and help you and your family try new things. To me, the worst is when you see a recipe and realize that you have everything you need except for one key ingredient, so you have to make a special trip to the store (or persuade your husband to stop on his way home) to get it.

But every so often, the stars align, and you come across a recipe you want to try, and you realize you already have every single ingredient required. When this happens, I must admit my heart skips a beat, and that’s exactly what happened this weekend when I came across this recipe for Banana Oatmeal Muffins. It just so happened that I had a bunch of browning bananas on my counter that needed to be used or tossed out. I found the recipe on Pinterest (from a blog called Green Lite Bites), which I finally joined this past week (and am already completely addicted to!). The muffins are gluten-free, kid-friendly and go great with breakfast or if you’re hosting a brunch. Did I mention it took me approximately 5 minutes to prepare the batter? The oven wasn’t even preheated and I had it ready to go!

Why buy a store-bought muffin mix, which is full of high fructose corn syrup, hydrogenated oils and other artificial ingredients, when you can make your own wholesome muffins in the same amount of time?

Ingredients (Makes 15 muffins):
3 bananas
1 cup vanilla flavored almond milk
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
3 cups gluten-free oats
1 tbsp baking powder
3 tbsp mini chocolate chips, blueberries or raisins (optional)

Preparation Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  • In a large mixing bowl, mash up the bananas.
  • Add all the other ingredients, except the chocolate chips and stir until it makes an even batter.
  • Gently stir in chocolate chips or or fruit if you’re including it. I chose to use the mini chocolate chips in half of my muffins.
  • Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until the edges are golden brown and the muffins are firm to the touch.
  • Let cool for a few minutes, serve and enjoy!

When it comes to the bananas, the riper the better!

These little beauties made my house smell delicious on a Sunday morning!

If oats aren’t your thing, don’t forget about my recent post on Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins. I hope you enjoy this quick and dirty recipe and add it to your breakfast arsenal!

5 Comments

Filed under Gluten-Free, Recipes

5 responses to “Healthy Kid-Friendly Breakfast On the Go: Banana Oatmeal Muffins

  1. Kelly Sweeney

    Making them later this morning!!

  2. Leah

    Thanks Nutritionista! I have a great banana bread recipe but I had never thought of adding oats. This will be a great way to sneak some added fiber into my little one’s diet! Hope you are well :) And I can’t wait for all the kid friendly recipes that you will be coming up with in the future!

    • I’ve craved bananas throughout this pregnancy, especially once the muscle cramps started, but it’s hard to use them up before they get too ripe. We make banana bread a lot too, but I was happy to find another way to use them. Happy New Year to you and your family and hope to see you soon!

Leave a Reply

