Sushi is my Love Language

When Shea and I were going through our pre-marital mentoring, they had us read The Five Love Languages, which has become a very popular read among Christians and non-Christians alike.  If you’re not familiar with the book, it’s based on the concept that we all give and receive love in five different languages: words of affirmation, acts of service, physical touch, gifts and quality time.  The language in which you receive love may be completely different from the way your partner wants you to give love.  For homework, our counselors asked us to think about what language we use to give and receive love and come back and report to them the next week.  When we returned, I told them that I had a completely different love language, and it was called sushi!

I’ve loved sushi ever since I can remember.  I think it’s because my mom ate a lot of it while she was pregnant with me, which I think you’re NOT supposed to do (That explains a lot.  Thanks Mama Kay!).  When I was a little girl, Mom and I would go to Harry’s Farmer’s Market every week, and we always bought sushi rolls.  Mom just couldn’t resist eating the sushi as we shopped, and by the time we got to the register all we had left of the sushi rolls to ring up were empty packages.  It embarrassed me at the time, but now I appreciate her passion.

Yum! Sometimes I think I could literally fill up a bath tub with sushi and eat my way out!

When Shea and I first started dating, he informed me that he did not like sushi.  I looked him right in the eyes and responded with two words: DEAL BREAKER!  The idea that my possible mate would not share my adoration for the tastiest food on the planet was simply unacceptable to me. I didn’t write him off right away, but he received a strong warning.  I mean, the boy grew up in Alabama (not exactly known for its sushi), so I had to cut him some slack.  I decided to give him a grace period to come to love sushi, and if he still didn’t comply, I would just have to cut all ties.

Luckily, the more Shea tried the little bite-sized bundles of delight, the more he liked them, and that like grew to love (Kind of how he fell for me!). And now, much to the dismay of our checking account, we eat sushi ALL THE TIME!  It makes my heart skip a beat when Shea’s eyes light up upon my suggestion that we grab takeout from our neighborhood sushi joint.  Yes, there is actually a sushi joint in Woodstock, GA.  Who knew?

And who knew I could ramble on this long about sushi?  But I’m just getting started.  According to my research (AKA a Google search), sushi is full of protein, Omega-3 fatty acids and other beneficial nutrients.  Also, you won’t feel as stuffed after a sushi dinner as you do after going to town on some Mexican or Italian.

Although sushi is a really healthy option, restaurants have a way of making it unhealthy, so be on your guard.  Here’s some tips for making your sushi dinner a little more nutritious:

  • Ask your server for sushi rolls that are usually made with rice to be made without it, or with half of the amount.  It’s also a great idea to ask that all your rolls be made with brown rice.
  • Skip any rolls containing the word “tempura.”  That just means it’s fried!
  • Opt for sashimi.  Raw fish does not contain as many calories and is still filling.
  • Go easy on the rolls made with mayonnaise or cream cheese, like the Spider Roll, Dragon Roll and the Soft-Shell Crab Roll.  Instead, load up on the ones filled with avocado, cucumber, and other veggies.
  • Skip the fried dumplings and order the seaweed salad as your appetizer!  Seaweed is packed with iodine, vitamin K and other nutrients in which many of us are deficient.
  • Don’t go crazy with the edamame (See my soy post from a few days ago!).  According to Dr. Mercola, “Edamame contains fewer of the toxins found in the mature beans and so can be eaten occasionally. People who are not allergic or sensitive to soy can consume these whole soy products safely at the levels eaten traditionally in Asia, which is to say in small amounts as condiments, not staples.”

So next time you’re going out for dinner, treat yourself to some high-quality sushi, and don’t forget to invite me! Mama Kay and Shea are happy to join us as well!

Have a wonderful weekend!

3 Comments

Filed under Healthy Tips, Rants and Cravings

3 responses to “Sushi is my Love Language

  1. Great guidelines for making a tasty treat healthier. BTW, are you on Twitter? I’m going to tweet about this post to my 800 followers this morning – @theshiramiller

  2. Thanks Shira! I’m not into the Twitter thing yet, but I need to be! I’m still figuring out how this whole blogging thing works, but Twitter is next on my list!

  3. I love sushi too! I actually wasn’t a fan at first but my hubby helped me ease in to it. We also need to read that book…I have heard great things!

Leave a Reply

