A Mexican Fiesta the Whole and Healthy Way

My name is JoAnna and I am addicted to Mexican food.  There, I said it.  They say admitting you have a problem is the first step toward recovery.  I’ve sabotaged some serious weight loss progress in my day with a good old gorge fest on chips, queso, burritos and everything in between.  I can try to resist it, but at the end of the day, Mexican is a cheap option that almost everyone can agree on, and we all need to get our fix now and then!  So I’m thinking, why give up something I adore (not quite as much as sushi, but it’s way up there) when I can just give it a healthy makeover?  So last night, that’s exactly what we did!

Shea and I had my sister Rosie over for dinner since she was all sad and lonely with her hubby out of town.  Our Mexican menu consisted of chicken fajitas/chicken fajita salads with Shea’s homemade fresh pico de gallo and my guacamole.  Moral of the story: you can still enjoy Mexican, simply by taking the focus off using large quantities of cheese, sour cream and other unhealthy fixings and instead loading up with fresh, organic, colorful veggies. We also used organic, hormone and antibiotic-free chicken and whole grain sprouted fajitas.  Here are all the recipes so you can have your own fiesta in the comfort of your very own casa!

Chicken Fajitas/Chicken Fajita Salad

  • Marinate boneless chicken breasts in lime juice, cilantro, salt and pepper and grill them or saute them on the stove.
  • Saute garlic, red and yellow bell peppers, and onions in a separate skillet.
  • When both the chicken and veggies are fully cooked, combine for serving.
  • Serve into tortillas for fajitas or over lettuce for salad and add Mexican fixings (Salsa, cheese, olives or whatever else you want!)

There were plenty of leftovers for lunch today.

Guacamole

  • Peel and slice fresh avocados.
  • Add fresh cilantro, onions, tomatoes, lime juice, lemon juice, salt and pepper to taste.
  • Mash up to desired consistency (I like mine nice and chunky!) and serve.

Not to toot my own horn or anything, but I make some mean gauc!

Shea’s Homemade Pico de Gallo

Finely chop and combine the following ingredients:

  • 2 large tomatoes
  • 1 onion
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 4 cerano peppers
  • 2 tablespoons cilantro
  • juice from 2 limes
  • salt and pepper to taste

Goes great with organic tortilla chips or as a topper on fajitas or salads.

Put it all together, and you’ve got a fresh Mexican meal, minus the bad fats, preservatives and guilt!

Pair all this with my all-natural margarita, and you’ve really got yourself a fiesta!

Even though you can’t control exactly what goes into your food when dining out at a Mexican restaurant, you can do your best to follow these same principles, avoiding or at least going easy on the dishes heavy with fried foods, cheese, sour cream and other heavy sauces and loading up on grilled meats, salsa and veggies.  And don’t let the chips be your undoing!

Adios Amigos!

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes

2 responses to “A Mexican Fiesta the Whole and Healthy Way

  1. Sounds and looks so yummy! My problem is that tortilla chips are like crack to me. Always end up sucking up a basket all on my own when going out, all control flying out of the window? Any advice on what kind of chips might satisfy the savage beast inside?

  2. I hear ya, Shira! There have been so many times when my meal arrives at the table but I’m already stuffed on chips! When I’m really being good, I wait to start eating them until my entree arrives, and then I don’t eat nearly as many. I’ve also served out a hand full and limited myself to that much.

    When buying your own chips, go for the brands with the fewest ingredients and of course organic is always great. Watch out for hidden soy and hydrogenated oils! The natural section of the grocery store and Trader Joe’s have some good brands.

Leave a Reply

