One Dish Wonder: Asian Stir-Fry

It’s recipe day!  Since I did a big Mexican meal last week, this week I was craving some Asian food.  I decided to do a beef stir-fry, which I make pretty frequently (That’s why my wok is one of my favorite wedding gifts!).  It’s going to be hard to share this recipe because I usually just throw a bunch of stuff together and serve, and it comes out different every time.  I was raised with a mom that cooked like that, which is why I have such a hard time following exact recipes to this day.  Baking is such a specific science, and there’s no room for creativity and inspiration without completely messing it up!

If executed in a healthy way, making an Asian dish is a great way to pack in lots of nutrient-rich veggies and high-quality protein for your family and use up all the produce in your fridge at the end of the week.   I love that you can make it often using different veggies, meats, seasonings and sauces and it will never taste the same! I used all organic veggies from the farmer’s market and grass-fed beef strips, so my dish was extra fresh and yummy!   Here’s what I did last night, but feel free to make this your own and leave me a comment with your Asian-inspired ideas.

Here are the veggies I used.  Click on them to learn about their nutritional value in your diet!

Garlic, Ginger, Onions, Mushrooms, Red and Yellow Bell Peppers, Bok Choy Cabbage, Broccoli, Green Peas, Bean Sprouts, and Celery

Water chestnuts, baby corns or cashews would also make a great addition to your stir-fry!

And here’s how I made the dipping sauce:

Combine 1/2 cup honey, 1/4 cup tamari, 1 teaspoon of minced garlic, 1 teaspoon of minced ginger, a dash of chili sauce (Found in the ethnic aisle of the store, go easy…this sauce packs a lot of punch!), and 1/2 teaspoon of sesame seeds.

This was the perfect combination of salty, sweet and spicy. Feel free to use it as a dipping sauce or marinade!

Cooking Instructions:

  • Wash and prep all veggies.
  • Grill or saute meat and set aside. Cooking it in sesame oil and other spices will give it a great Asian flavor.
  • Heat 2 tablespoons of sesame oil or chicken broth in a large wok or skillet, and throw in 2 cloves of fresh, minced garlic and 1 tablespoon of fresh, minced ginger.
  • Next add in onions and mushrooms, then the rest of the veggies.  Get the broccoli in early, as it will take the longest to cook.
  • Season stir fry mixture with tamari, Chinese 5 spice seasoning, garlic powder, chili powder, salt and pepper (or whatever spices you so desire).  When broccoli is tender and bok choy is cooked down, combine with beef.  Serve and enjoy!

Colorful, delicious and power-packed with nutrition!

Note: You may opt to serve your stir-fry over brown rice or lo mein, but I find it very filling without adding the starch.

Can’t wait to have the leftovers for lunch today!

Wok-n-Roll, ya’ll!

P.S.  I must give all photo credits for this post to Shea Brown, expert photographer in the making!

4 Comments

Filed under Gluten-Free, Recipes

4 responses to “One Dish Wonder: Asian Stir-Fry

  1. Katie Daniel

    YUM!!! Can’t wait to try this one. Thanks 🙂

  2. Hi JoAnna. Thanks so much for the cooking instructions – I’ve been craving a good stir fry and now I’ll create this one, using grass-fed chicken, at home. Glad you married such an expert photographer. 🙂

  3. I mix up the stir-fry, sometimes using beef, sometimes chicken and sometimes shrimp. Let me know how it goes making your own. Yes, Shea is a great photographer…we were so busy photographing the food we almost forgot to eat it!

Leave a Reply

