A Few of My Favorite Things

Hello everyone!  I hope you all enjoyed the GORGEOUS fall weekend.  It’s time for another list of my favorite things!  You might recall from last time that this is just a list of products that are helping me live a healthy life on the go.  So I wanted to let you know about a few more things I’m digging right now.  Check it out!

THE NUTRITIONISTA’S FAVORITE THINGS, Part II

  • My new single-serve portable blender.  This thing is awesome!  As you know, I’m a big fan of protein shakes for breakfast, but I get sick of keeping my bulky blender on the counter and constantly washing it.  This genius appliance is perfect for busy mornings because it’s also a to-go cup, so I can make my shake in about two minutes and run out the door.  No clean-up required!  It’s also great for traveling because it’s lightweight and fits easily into a suitcase.  Having this little beauty in your hotel room will help you avoid an unhealthy continental breakfast or, even worse, a breakfast from a vending machine, fast food restaurant or convenience store.  Just add your protein powder (pack it in a ziplock bag) and some water and you’re good to go.  If your room has a mini-fridge, you can also add some fresh or frozen berries.

I got mine for $15 at Target.

  • Organo Gold Instant Coffee.  I don’t just love this coffee because it’s yummy and comes in individual serving packets, although that helps.  This coffee contains ganoderma, a mushroom that builds the immune system, balances body pH, boosts stamina and contains more than 150 antioxidants to combat free radicals.  (Do a Google search on ganoderma, and you’ll find bookoos of other health benefits!)  It comes in black coffee, mocha, latte, hot chocolate and green tea, but I think the latte is the best.  Since my hubby leaves for work super early in the morning, I never feel like making coffee just for myself, especially because I only drink about a half a cup at most, so these packets are the perfect grab-and-go solution!  If you’re interested in learning more, call Longevity and ask for Cristina!
  • Justin’s Nut Butter Packs.  I’ve mentioned this healthy snack idea on a couple of occasions.  For all of you endurance athletes, these individual servings of nut butters are a great alternative to those Gu packs, which contain a lot of chemicals.  They’re also perfect for kids’ lunches.  Just throw them in the lunch box with an apple, banana, crackers or celery sticks, and you’ve got a great nutritious snack.  I think they’re good just on their own as well.  You can purchase these at REI, Whole Foods and other health food stores, or you can order them straight from their website.

Nut butter is an excellent source of healthy fat, which we need for long-burning fuel.

  • Probiotic Pearls.  You may remember this post when I listed probiotics as one of those products all of us should be taking for good digestion and immunity.  The reason I love this brand above all the rest is that it has a protective glossy coating to ensure that it survives the acidic environment of our stomachs and makes it down to the gut where we need that healthy bacteria.  So many people are taking a probiotic every day, only to have it deactivated in the stomach before it can ever reach the intestines!  We carry this brand at Longevity, and it’s really reasonably priced ($16.50 for a month’s supply, $40 for three months).  If you’re not on a high-quality probiotic, now is the time to get on one in order to guard against all the sickness going around this time of year.
  • Burt’s Bees Natural Acne Solutions.  We’re not just eating our chemicals – we’re also rubbing them into our skin!  Did you know the average woman is exposed to approximately 126 chemicals in the beauty products she uses every day?  Your skin is your biggest organ, so pay attention to the makeup, lotions and other personal products you’re using and try to find natural solutions whenever you can.  Burt’s Bees products are great for kids and adults alike.  I love the Acne Solutions line, especially the Pour Refining Scrub and the Daily Moisturizing Lotion, and to me it’s much more affordable than some of the other natural brands.  Trader Joe’s has some all-natural hand soaps, shampoos, cleansers and cleaning products that are very cost-effective as well.   Just like with food, beauty product labels can be very misleading.  A company may claim that their products is natural just because they added a little bit of avocado or oatmeal to it, so make sure you read labels just like when you’re in the grocery store.

Since I love the company's values, I try to buy Burt's Bees products whenever I can.

As always, I want to hear from you.  Are there any foods, gadgets or other products that help you with your nutrition and other aspects of your health?  Share the love!

Leave a comment

Filed under Rants and Cravings

Leave a Reply

