I Can’t Get No Inspiration

I’m not one to sugar coat things, so I’m just going to say it.  This is a really rough time of year when it comes to our health and fitness.  Between the parties, family dinners, the gift baskets and the constant stream of treats through the office break room, we’re bombarded with opportunities to eat junk.  And with all the social commitments, the shopping and to-do lists, who has time to exercise?  Most people just do their best to survive the season and plan to get back on track with their health at the New Year.

The holidays bring new temptations around every corner.

But unfortunately, I’m not the kind of person who can just let things go for a month or two without packing on some serious pounds, not to mention the fact that I just don’t feel good when I’m not eating right and exercising regularly.  Last week I was feeling things begin to slip, so this week, I decided to kick it up a notch and get a little jump on my New Year goals.

I joined a new gym that opened Monday, and it is amazing!  I’ve never been a member of a gym this nice.  Each cardio machine has an iPod docking station and a personal T.V., the classes are awesome, the dressing room is immaculate and all the equipment is brand new.  The atmosphere feels more like a spa than a gym, so it makes me want to stay longer and workout harder.  Even though I’m not much of an early bird these days, I even got up and went to the gym before work a couple of mornings this week.  I noticed over the last few days that when I upped my fitness game, it made me want to eat lighter as well.

I’m saying all this not to brag (Because Lord knows I’m not perfect!), but just to say that I’m feeling inspired and really motivated, and that’s just what I needed to make it through the remainder of the holiday season.

So today I want to issue a challenge.  Find something that will inspire you to finish 2010 well.  Think about what really motivates you to eat a little healthier and work out a little harder.  Maybe it’s a brand new playlist for your iPod, a new pair of jeans, an upcoming class reunion, taking up a new fitness activity or finding an exercise buddy.  Get motivated today, and you’ll get a two-week jump on your New Year’s resolutions!

Show the holidays who's boss!

So now it’s your turn.  I’d love to hear what inspires you to live a healthy life, so please feel free to leave a comment.  You might just give us all a little boost of motivation, and we need all the help we can get!

Anyone can give up, it’s the easiest thing in the world to do. But to hold it together when everyone else would understand if you fell apart, that’s true strength.
— Author Unknown

P.S. If you have a suggestion for a blog topic in 2011, leave that for me as a comment as well.  Or just let me know what kinds of posts you enjoy the most.  (Do you want more recipes, grocery store spotlights, information on specific foods, etc.?)  I’m always happy to research the nutrition topics my readers are curious about, so don’t be shy!

1 Comment

Filed under Rants and Cravings, Working on Our Fitness

One response to “I Can’t Get No Inspiration

  1. What inspires me the most to live a healthy life is helping others with their quest for wellness. Every time I coach someone, write a blog post or speak on this topic, it fills me with joy and reinforces my mostly healthy habits. As for blog topics, I like the diversity of areas you have covered because it is all so well-written. What is most helpful to me are your blogs about food items, like the one about cooking oils, bread & cracker options, etc. Anyting that reveals new info or dispels misinformation is great. Have a happy holiday and a wonderful new year!

Leave a Reply

