A Dinner to Remember: Baked Mahi Mahi and Couscous-Stuffed Peppers

Yesterday was my one-year wedding anniversary.  Since we’ve been eating out and running around a lot lately with the holidays, Shea asked if he could cook for me instead of going out to a fancy dinner, and that was fine by me!  That boy can cook, and the way to this Nutritionista’s heart is through my stomach, especially if it’s a healthy dish I can share with you all!

My handsome chef! He gets all the credit for planning this meal.

As you may recall, I’m a domestic goddess in training, and I’ve come a very long way in the last year.  So I tried to assist in the cooking process as much as possible, but mostly I just took pictures and drank a whole lot of this:

Cava Sangria: Just a few simple ingredients, throw in mint leaves and strawberries for garnish, and you've got a very festive party drink!

And I decided that our one year anniversary was also the perfect excuse to use our wedding china for the first time. Why not pull out all the stops?

Okay, enough of all that.  Let me tell you about the menu and link you to all the recipes, because you are definitely going to want to recreate it at some point, especially the side dish.  We had Baked Mahi Mahi with wine and herbs, with couscous-stuffed bell peppers with basil sauce on the side.  It was divine!

Who needs a restaurant when you can eat a healthy dinner like this from the comfort of your own home for half the price?

We finished it all off with a little chocolate fondue.

A nice light way to complete the fantastic meal!

Chocolate Heaven! Hey, it's only my first anniversary once!

Shea actually got all these recipes off The Food Network Website, so really we have Giada de Laurentis, Bobby Flay and Emeril Lagasse to thank for them!  Here are the links:

Cava Sangria – We used purple grape juice instead of white to give the drink a festive color, and we used agave nectar instead of simple syrup.

Baked Mahi Mahi with Wine and Herbs

Couscous-Stuffed Peppers with Basil Sauce – We skipped the garbanzo beans on this one.  You could switch the feta out for crumbled goat cheese as well!

Chocolate Fondue

The whole meal was fabulous, but I must say the stuffed peppers were my favorite part.  The couscous, spinach, currants and feta came together to make a great combination of flavors.  It kinda reminded me of this Marinated Couscous Tomato Salad I make from time to time.

These would also make a great appetizer or party food. We're making them again tonight and I'm thinking about serving them at this month's book club meeting. I can't get enough!

Baked Mahi Mahi is a simple and healthy dish that will impress your dinner party guests. I recommend getting the boneless, skinless filets that the recipe calls for. These steaks were a little tough to navigate.

2011 is off to a healthy and delicious start!  Make this the year you eat out a little less and start cooking colorful, nutritious meals for yourself (Feel free to swap the china for paper plates…whatever it takes to get you eating fresh, whole foods!).  You’ll save a lot of money and have the piece of mind that comes with knowing exactly what goes into your food.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

