Dinner Party Delight: Chicken Marbella

Confession:  I’ve been in a dinner rut lately.  That’s why it’s been so long since I’ve posted a recipe.  But at my last book club meeting, I finally got inspired to try something new!  My sister Alice made Chicken Marbella, and it was an all-around hit.  The sweet, salty and spicy flavors combined to make her house smell amazing and my taste buds happy!

Alice shared the recipe with me, and when I saw how easy it is, I had to give it a try.  You basically toss all the ingredients in a bowl and let it marinate over night, then you just throw it in the oven when you’re ready to eat it.  That’s my kind of cooking!  Only a few of the ingredients have to be chopped….another win for families on the go.

Here are the ingredients you will need:

  • 2 lbs of boneless, skinless chicken (You can use tenderloins, breasts or thighs.)
  • 1/2 head minced garlic (about 6-8 cloves)
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons dried oregano
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/3 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1/3 cupolive oil
  • 12 pitted prunes, cut in half
  • 6 dried apricots, cut in half
  • 1/2 cup pitted Spanish green olives, cut in half
  • 1/3 cup capers
  • 3 bay leaves
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup white wine
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/3 cup fresh cilantro

These amounts are for 6 servings, so my hubby and I had plenty of leftovers for our lunches the next day!

Preparation Instructions:

Step 1 – Combine all the ingredients in a large bowl.  Cover and let marinate in the refrigerator overnight (or at least for a few hours).

The long marinating time allows all the savory flavors to combine.

Step 2 – Preheat oven to 350.  Arrange chicken in a single layer in a large baking dish and spoon marinade over it evenly.

Step 3 – Bake for approximately 45 minutes (or until chicken is cooked through to  your liking), basting frequently with pan juices.

Since you can do all the heavy lifting ahead of time, there is hardly any prep if you’re serving this dish for a dinner party or pot luck.

Step 4 – Remove from oven.  Garnish with extra cilantro or parsley if you wish.  Serve and enjoy!

I served my Chicken Marbella over couscous with a side of broccoli.

There you have it folks, a SUPER SIMPLE and nutritious dinner your guests will love!  I’m going to keep this recipe in my back pocket for when I entertain in the future.  Let me know if you give this dish a try and what you think!

6 Comments

Filed under Gluten-Free, Recipes

6 responses to “Dinner Party Delight: Chicken Marbella

  1. Ginger

    I have had this, and it is delicious. Good job.

  2. lisa

    This looks amazing & I can’t wait to try it!

  3. Life expectancy would grow by leaps and bounds if green vegetables smelled as good as bacon. ~Doug Larson

  4. harmony ilenda

    I can vouch a this recipe…very good indeed! I will be making this one soon 🙂

  5. Connie

    A M A Z I N G. Loved making the marinade – such an interesting mix that I would never have dreamed up. Like JoAnna said, LOVED smelling this as it baked. It filled my house with the most wonderful aromas. The result was even better than imagined. My taste buds kept being surprised over and over again. I served this over quinoa and with a side of baby cucumber salad. Yummy – will make this again and again. Thanks, JoAnna!

Leave a Reply

