A Bit of Spring Cleaning

Some people love cold weather, but I am not one of them.  By the time the New Year rolls around, I’m already dreaming about 70 degree weather, which makes the next three months pretty long and miserable.  Thankfully, Spring is FINALLY here, and I couldn’t be happier.  Don’t you just love daylight savings?  Bring on the walks in the park, days by the pool and cook outs with friends!

I also love a little spring cleaning.  Over the weekend, I did a big closet switch, digging out all my tank tops and shorts and bidding farewell (more like good riddance) to my heavy sweaters and boots.  I also filled up a huge trash bag full of stuff for the Goodwill.  A good closet purge always feels good.

So you probably know what’s coming next…

Spring is also a great time to give your diet a little overhaul.  Since I’ve been eating a lot of soups and root veggies over the winter, I’m ready for some fresh spring produce.  Here are a few ideas to give your meals a little spring makeover!

  • Think Green. The greening that occurs in springtime should be represented by greens on your plate.  Think tender, leafy veggies like  swiss chard, spinach, romaine lettuce, fresh parsley, and basil.  (Hint: You can dress up hum-drum salads with fruit, nuts and soft cheeses.  I love apple gorgonzola salad – romaine lettuce, sliced green apples, nuts of your choice, dried cranberries and gorgonzola cheese.)

Swiss chard is packed with antioxidants like Vitamin C and E, beta-carotene, manganese and zinc.

  • Taste the Rainbow. No, I’m not talking about Skittles.  I’m talking about colorful fruits, like strawberries, cherries, kiwis, pineapples and mangoes.   I’m already excited to eat watermelon on the Fourth of July!

Fresh berries make a nice light snack or dessert, and they go great in salads and smoothies.

  • Mix it Up.  Stuck in a dinner rut?  Spice things up by finding some new recipes that incorporate all the fresh spring produce.  Click here and here to get some ideas!
  • Lighten Up.  Now is the time to get out and use your grill!  Throwing veggies and meat on the grill is so quick and easy, and it’s so much lighter than frying or making heavy casseroles and pastas.  You can make all kinds of healthy dishes using nothing but your grill.  In the next couple of weeks, I’m going to do a post with a complete, nutritious dinner cooked on the grill (even dessert!), so stay tuned for recipes!

If you don't already have a grill basket, I highly recommend it. It makes grilling veggies so much easier.

These are just a few ideas to get you started and on the right track toward feeling good in your bathing suit!  Don’t forget to take advantage of the extra daylight by getting out and taking an after-dinner walk or working in the yard.

Do you have any suggestions for giving our health and fitness a little boost this spring?  What is most motivating and effective for you this time of year?  I’d love to hear your ideas!

Happy Spring!

3 Comments

Filed under Rants and Cravings

3 responses to “A Bit of Spring Cleaning

  1. Stephanie

    Yes, Spring!!! I’m lovin’ the grill basket idea! Grilling is a love for warm weather. Thanks for the post highlighting the refreshment of Spring. This makes me very happy.

  2. Oh man, I think our grill basket is among our most used wedding gifts. We use that thing every week, even in the winter! It’s great for grilling up zucchini, asparagus, potatoes, etc. They are cheap at Bed, Bath and Beyond, Target, etc.

    I know a Southern girl like you is thrilled for warm weather!

  3. jess

    I just added a grill basket to our registry after reading this – ha! Thanks for the great suggestion.

Leave a Reply

