A New Year, A New Spin on Roasting Veggies

Happy New Year Friends!  I hope you had a wonderful holiday season and are ready to face 2012.  I can’t believe this is the year I’m going to become a mom (Just 8 weeks to go!).

I’ve posted about the importance of eating veggies multiple times since starting this blog (like here and here), and today I’m going to do it again!  I think striving to eat more vegetables is a great resolution that we should make every year, and it’s one we may actually even keep!  Veggies are packed with vitamins, minerals and antioxidants we need for immune support, cellular health, anti-aging and a million other reasons.  I’m always looking for new and creative ways to sneak in more veggies, like throwing spinach into my protein shake or adding a little kale to a savory soup.

I’m also a big fan of roasting my veggies because it’s super easy and they taste delish!  I came across this creative spin on roasting veggies on the Gluten-Free Goddess Blog, one of my go-to sites for healthy recipes.  I usually just toss some asparagus and peppers on a baking sheet, season them up and throw them in the oven.  But this recipe for Cider Roasted Vegetables is a much more colorful and exciting mix of veggies, and I love the idea of using both the sweet and savory seasonings to make it a little different.  These are the ingredients I used, but you can feel free to change it up to include your favorite produce.

You really can’t mess up the combination or the quantity of veggies, so pick your favorites and make it your own!

Ingredients:
1 red bell pepper, sliced
2 carrots, sliced
1 bunch of asparagus
8 red potatoes, cut up
1 butternut squash, peeled, cubed
1 large zucchini, cut into half moons
A few green beans, cut into 1 inch pieces
A few sliced mushrooms
A few sweet orange tomatoes
Lots of garlic, several whole or minced cloves (I used three large cloves)
3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
3 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
1 cup natural apple cider
1 tablespoon honey (agave or brown sugar will also work)
Warming spices: curry, nutmeg, cinnamon, thyme

Colorful and Delicious!

Preparation Instructions:

  • Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.
  • Wash and cut your favorite mix of vegetables and toss them into a large roasting pan or on a cookie sheet.   I put some aluminum foil down to save myself from doing lots of scrubbing later.  Cut denser veggies like carrots into thinner slices so they’ll cook all the way through.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.
  • Prepare your cider roasting sauce: Combine cider, apple cider vinegar, olive oil and honey and stir well.  Pour the sauce over the veggies and toss well to coat.
  • Sprinkle veggies with warming spices.
  • Roast until veggies are tender to your liking.  My veggies needed about an hour to give the squash, carrots and potatoes plenty of time to get tender.

Here are my veggies just out of the oven. My house smelled great!

The sweet roasting sauce turned a basic veggie dish into a wonderful winter comfort food!  For a light vegetarian meal, serve your veggies over brown rice or quinoa seasoned with a little olive oil and a sprinkle of curry or cumin.  If you’re looking to make a few more healthy resolutions, check out my ideas from last year here.

Here’s to making 2012 our healthiest year yet!  Have a great weekend, and remember to eat your veggies!

Leave a comment

Filed under Gluten-Free, Recipes

Leave a Reply

